Helvetia Environnement

Helvetia environnement 001

Building a data-centric approach in a digital transformation program.

The client

Helvetia Environnement was created in 2005 as the heir to Swiss family businesses to provide a global response to waste management in Switzerland. The company is active in waste collection for communities, businesses and industries, in waste sorting and recovery, and in the field of energy creation from waste (Waste to Energy). Helvetia Environnement is present in Switzerland with more than 500 employees in the cantons of Geneva, Vaud, Fribourg, Basel and Solothurn.

Helvetia-environnement-company-presentation 002

The project

The Swiss waste treatment and management sector is accelerating its transformation, driven by the digitisation of processes, innovation, the exploitation of data and the potential of new technologies (AI, IoT, Big Data, Blockchain, etc.).

To meet the new challenges of the sector, Helvetia Environnement is launching a transformation programme in 2019 to meet the following objectives:

  • Refining the management of the global performance of the group, its entities and its activities
  • Computerise all business data flows (collection - sorting - processing - trading - service)
  • Dematerialise and then digitise certain company functions
  • Simplify and deploy business processes
  • Set up an information system with an architecture conducive to future developments.
  • Putting data governance at the heart of processes.

In this context, we assist Helvetia Environnement to :

  • Understand the current and future state of Helvetia Environnement's main data domains in order to define the group's "Data Centric" strategy
  • Design the data architecture that will support the programme and its objectives
  • Support the teams in the implementation of data management
  • Implement the programme, providing leadership and project resources
the-project-illustration 003

The implementation

To carry out this mission, we divided our intervention into several phases.

The first phase is an organisational phase, which enabled us to move from a project vision to a programme vision, by building the streams that would make up the programme. In this vision, the prism of data as a support for digital transformation appeared to be essential and allowed us to lay the first bricks of the data foundations, whether technical or functional.

The second phase is an analysis of Helvetia Environnement's IT landscape. This allowed us to align the building blocks of a data platform with the technical constraints and business challenges, and thus to design and provide our client with a real data strategy.

This analysis forged a conviction, that of proposing, beyond the classic Data Lake or Data warehouse architectures, an architecture inspired by distributed architectures. To do this, we considered data domains as a priority and applied our "Data Thinking" methodology to create a self-service data infrastructure and treat data as a product.

The third phase is the instantiation of the programme. Cross steers the programme with the various stakeholders, carries out the technical design of the datahub, lays down the principles of data management and defines, together with Helvetia Environnement, the implementation of the data centric organisation.

Customer benefits

The objective of our approach was to ensure that the four pillars of the data foundation were aligned so that they could effectively and sustainably support Helvetia Environnement's programme, projects and data needs.

vision strategy and objectives 004

We have therefore built an architecture with a long-term vision that will integrate all future challenges to be addressed by Helvetia Environnement. Moreover, the agile implementation of this project allows us to build a solution in accordance with the needs of the moment.

This approach allowed us to switch from a point-to-point integration approach to a centralised data architecture, which we will call DataHub.

A DataHub approach makes it possible to offer a centralised service that connects all systems, whether they are web applications, IoT sensors, SaaS solutions or more operational solutions, such as a CRM or ERP.

Also, this brick of the data architecture manages the connections between the systems and orchestrates the flow of data between them. We therefore have a flexible architecture that can evolve over time.

With a Datahub, connections are established with each system or component that will be integrated in the future. This connection is shared with all other systems that need to interact with this DataHub. Data services can be exposed and published in a consistent manner, allowing for better data integration between systems and reducing the need for data replication.

This DataHub approach also simplifies the implementation of a data governance policy, as data is stored and centralised. Data can be easily transformed and distributed to other points, such as Datawarehouses, DataLake (Cloud or On Premise), and data restitution tools (BI, advanced analysis, or data science tools).

This is what makes the difference with traditional data platform architectures. The DataHub is a brick for mediation, storage and exchange of coherent data. It is a component of the data architecture and not an end point like a data warehouse or a data lake.

The added value of this architecture is that it gives each component a clearly defined role.

  • The datawarehouse, to structure the data for analytical purposes ;
  • The datalake, to collect Big Data for exploratory analysis;
  • The DataHub, to provide semantic mediation between systems.

For CROSS, the Datahub is the most mature architecture for meeting our client's data needs. Moreover, it is fully compatible with emerging architectures such as datamesh, which will allow us to absorb the explosion of the business perimeters of new functional domains that will emerge at our client's.

To meet the challenges of tomorrow, where data remains a critical element, tomorrow's data architecture must be dynamic and flexible, to enable companies to evolve at the pace of their environment and to offer rapid innovation.

Pierre-Olivier SPINELLI, Consulting Director at CROSS
Only 0.35g of CO2 is produced every time someone visits this web page !
box icon

Craft your project with us !

Genève

Route des acacias
45b ch-1227 les acacias
t. +41 22 308 48 60

Morges

Rue saint-louis 2
1110 morges
t. +41 21 561 10 00

box icon

Helvetia Environnement

Helvetia environnement 001

Construire une approche centrée data dans un programme de transformation digitale.

Le client

Héritière d’entreprises familiales suisses, Helvetia Environnement a été créée en 2005 pour apporter une réponse globale à la gestion des déchets en Suisse. La société est active dans la Collecte des déchets pour les collectivités, les commerces et industries, dans le Tri et la Valorisation des déchets, et dans le domaine de la création d’énergie à partir de déchets (Waste to Energy). Helvetia Environnement est présente en Suisse avec plus de 500 employés répartis dans les cantons de Genève, Vaud, Fribourg, Bâle et Soleure.

Helvetia-environnement-présentation-entreprise 002

Le projet

Le secteur suisse du traitement et de la gestion des déchets accélère sa transformation, impulsée par la numérisation des processus, l’innovation, l’exploitation des données et du potentiel des nouvelles technologies (AI, IoT, Big Data, Blockchain, etc).

Pour répondre aux nouveaux enjeux du secteur, Helvetia Environnement lance en 2019 un programme de transformation visant à répondre aux objectifs suivants :

  • Affiner le pilotage de la performance globale du groupe, de ses entités et de ses activités
  • Informatiser la totalité des flux de données métier (collecte – tri – transformation – négoce – service)
  • Dématérialiser, puis digitaliser certaines fonctions de l’entreprise
  • Simplifier et déployer les processus métier
  • Mettre en place un système d’informations avec une architecture propice aux futurs développements
  • Mettre la gouvernance des données au cœur des processus

Dans ce contexte, nous accompagnons Helvetia Environnement pour :

  • Comprendre l’état actuel et futur des principaux domaines de données de Helvetia Environnement afin de définir la stratégie « Data Centric » du groupe
  • Designer l’architecture data qui soutiendra le programme et ses objectifs
  • Accompagner les équipes dans la mise en place du data mangement
  • Mettre en œuvre le programme, en assurant sa direction et en apportant des ressources projet
le-projet-illustration 003

La réalisation

Pour mener à bien cette mission, nous avons décomposé notre intervention en plusieurs phases.

La première phase est une phase organisationnelle, qui a permis de passer d’une vision projet, à une vision programme, en construisant les streams qui allaient le composer. Dans cette vision, le prisme de la data comme support à la transformation digitale, est apparu comme primordial et a permis de poser les premières briques des fondations data, qu’elles soient techniques ou fonctionnelles.

La deuxième est une phase d’analyse du paysage IT d’Helvetia Environnement. Cela nous a permis d’aligner les buildings blocks d’une plateforme data avec les contraintes techniques et les enjeux métier, et ainsi de dessiner et apporter une véritable stratégie data à notre client.

Cette analyse a forgé une conviction, celle de proposer, au-delà des architectures classiques de Data Lake ou de Data warehouse, une architecture s'inspirant des architectures distribuées. Pour cela nous avons considéré les domaines de données comme une priorité et appliqué notre méthodologie « Data Thinking » pour créer une infrastructure de données en libre-service et traiter les données comme un produit.

La troisième phase est celle de l’instanciation du programme. Cross pilote le programme avec les différents intervenants, réalise la conception technique du datahub, pose les principes de data management et défini avec Helvetia Environnement, la mise en place de l’organisation data centric.

Les bénéfices clients

L’objectif de notre approche a été de s’assurer de l’alignement des 4 piliers des fondations “data”, afin qu’ils puissent supporter efficacement et de manière durable le programme, les projets et les besoins en données d’Helvetia Environnement.

vision stratégie et objectifs 004

Nous avons donc construit une architecture avec une vision pour le long-terme qui intégrera tous les challenges futurs à adresser pour Helvetia Environnement. De plus, la réalisation agile de ce projet permet de construire une solution en accord avec les besoins du moment.

Cette approche a permis de basculer d’une approche d’intégration dite point à point, à une architecture data centralisée, que nous appellerons DataHub.

Une approche DataHub permet de proposer un service centralisé qui relie tous les systèmes, qu'il s'agisse d'applications web, de capteurs IoT, de solutions SaaS ou de solutions plus opérationnelles, comme un CRM ou un ERP.

Aussi, cette brique de l’architecture data gère les connexions entre les systèmes et orchestre le flux de données entre eux. Nous avons donc une architecture flexible et évolutive au fil du temps.

Avec un Datahub, les connexions sont établies avec chaque système ou composant qui seront intégrées dans le futur. Cette connexion est partagée avec tous les autres systèmes qui doivent interagir avec ce DataHub. Les services de données peuvent être exposés et publiés de manière cohérente, ce qui permet une meilleure intégration des données entre les systèmes et réduit le besoin de réplication des données.

Cette approche DataHub simplifie également la mise en œuvre d’une politique de gouvernance des données, car elles sont conservées et centralisées. Ces dernières peuvent être transformées et distribuées facilement vers d'autres points, tels que les Datawarehouse, les DataLake (Cloud ou On Premise), et les outils de restitution de données (outils BI, d’analyse avancée, ou de data science).

C’est ce qui fait la différence avec les architectures classiques des plateformes de données. Le DataHub est une brique de médiation, de stockage et d'échange de données cohérentes. C’est un composant de l’architecture data et non un point final comme un Datawarehouse ou un Data Lake.

La valeur ajoutée de cette architecture est qu’elle donne, à chaque composant, un rôle bien défini.

  • Le datawarehouse, pour structurer la donnée à des fins analytiques ;
  • Le datalake, pour collecter les données du Big Data à des fins d’analyse exploratoire ;
  • Le DataHub, pour faire la médiation sémantique entre les systèmes.

Pour CROSS le Datahub est l’architecture la plus mature permettant de répondre aux besoins data de notre client. De plus elle est totalement compatible avec des architectures émergentes type datamesh, qui permettrons d’absorber l’explosion des périmètres métiers de nouveaux domaines fonctionnels qui vont voir le jour chez notre client.

Pour faire face aux enjeux de demain, où la donnée reste un élément critique, l’architecture data de demain doit être dynamique, flexible, pour permettre aux entreprises d’évoluer au rythme de leur environnement, et proposer rapidement de l’innovation.

Pierre-Olivier SPINELLI, Directeur Conseil chez CROSS
Seulement 0.35g de CO2 est produit chaque fois qu'un utilisateur visite cette page web.
box icon
Genève

Route des acacias

45b ch-1227 les acacias

t. +41 22 308 48 60

Morges

Rue saint-louis 2

1110 morges

t. +41 21 561 10 00

box icon